Development News

Posted on: Wednesday, 02/19/2014

School Thanks Dr. Tom Rauth & Welcomes Dr. Susan Fredericks

After nearly a decade of service, Dr. Thomas Rauth, made the decision to step down as the Chair of the Apollonian Society. Among his top achievements in his tenure include the reorganization of the Apollonians into a membership-based society, the establishment of the White Coat Ceremony for first year students, support of patient care subsidy funds, and the purchase of computers, endodontic surgical microscopes and digital cameras for the student clinic.  Under his leadership, the Apollonian Society contributed  over $2 million to enhance the student experience and the reputation for excellence of the UCLA School of Dentistry. To acknowledge this philanthropic and volunteer leadership at the School, Dr. Rauth was honored at the 2013 Commencement Ceremony on June 2nd. Dr. Rauth will continue to serve on the UCLA School of Dentistry’s Board of Counselors. He is one of the School’s most valued alumni and the entire community is grateful for his dedication, loyalty, and friendship.          

Dr. Mito shared, “The role of the Apollonian Society Chair is to provide a vital link between the School and community, encouraging alumni and friends to support the Apollonian Society. With Susan’s energy and new, innovative ideas, the Apollonian Society will surely continue to make great strides  in supporting the UCLA School of Dentistry.”Stepping in to serve as the new Apollonian Society Chair is Dr. Susan Fredericks, who graduated from UCLA with a BS degree in Biology in 1977 and a DDS degree in 1981. Susan  is also a founding member of the Apollonian Society, a member of the School’s Board of Counselors and a volunteer faculty member in the Division of Restorative Dentistry. She will lead the Apollonian Society with Dr. Ronald Mito, who has served as Co-Chair since 2004.

Alumni & Friends Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery Endowed Chair Campaign

Dr. Howard ParkThe end of the 2012-2013 fiscal year marked the launch of the Alumni & Friends Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery Endowed Chair Campaign. The campaign is being chaired by Drs. Howard Park (left) and Ralph Buoncristiani (right), who both graduated from the UCLA Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery program in 1981 and 1998, respectively. Dr. BuoncristianiIn addition to serving on the School’s Board of Counselors, they are part-time volunteer faculty members. After seeing the level of dedication demonstrated by the current full-time faculty members, their decision to chair the campaign was solidified. 

As one of the leading Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery advanced training programs in the country, recruiting and retaining world-class faculty is essential for the continued excellence in this specialty. Drs. Park and Buoncristiani will be working with Dean No-Hee Park and the Office of Development to ensure the campaign's success. To learn more about this endowed chair campaign, please contact the Office of Development at (310) 206-6079 or

Dinner with the Dean

As part of our regionally-focused “Dinner with the Dean” event series, more than 30 alumni and friends gathered at Belle Marie Winery in Escondido on Saturday, September 14, 2013. The evening presented an opportunity for valued alumni and friends of the School to engage with others in the community who share a passion for the School and the oral health profession. Dean Park discussed exciting developments and his vision for the future as we approach our 50th Anniversary Celebration, kicking off in May of 2014.

A special thanks is extended to Dr. Mick and Mary Dragoo, who own Belle Marie Winery, where the event took place.

From left to right: Mrs. Mary Dragoo and Dr. Mick Dragoo, owners of Belle Marie Winery and supporters of the School, with Dean No-Hee Park.

From left to right: Dr. David Milder, Dr. Theresa Milder, Dean No-Hee Park, Dr. Richard and Mrs. Jeanne Ewing, Dr. Kevin Kieu, and Mrs. Audrey Nam.

From left to right: Dr. Perry and Mrs. Angie Klokkevold; Dean No-Hee Park; Dr. Paulo Camargo and Ms. Araceli Aguiar; and Drs. Kaitlyn and Enoch Kim.

Providing Oral Health Services to the Community

At the end of July, Wilshire State Bank and the School embarked on a collaborative partnership to reshape patient care and dentistry education for bank customers and residents of the Los Angeles metropolitan area. The bank, which serves multi-ethnic small and mid-sized business communities, pledged $100,000 for a 5-year period to the dental school to provide free dental care to the community.

From left to right: Dr. Paulo Camargo, Dr. Mo Kang, Dr. Tara Aghaloo, Dr. Ronald Mito, Mallory Gompert, Dean No-Hee Park, and Jae Whan Yoo, President and CEO of Wilshire State Bank.

Each year, the School will hold a screening at a local Wilshire State Bank branch. Following the initial screening, individuals who meet certain criteria will travel to the School’s Westwood clinic to receive their treatment. The School will also contribute $20,000 per year for a total of $100,000 in in-kind donations including faculty time and expertise, and additional supplies and staff support in the School clinic.

The first event of this 5-year partnership will occur on Saturday, October 12 at the Wilshire State Bank’s headquarters where faculty, residents, and dental students will volunteer their time to screen for the actual treatment day, which will take place the following Saturday on October 19.

Thank you to Wilshire State Bank for their support of the School's mission of improving the oral and systemic health of the community. Read the full press release.