Faculty News

Posted on: Tuesday, 10/01/2013

Dr. Freymiller Recognized for Leadership & Innovation

Dr. Earl Freymiller, Clinical Professor and Chairman of the Section of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, was awarded the 2013 Dr. Arthur A. Dugoni Faculty Award in recognition of his exceptional leadership, innovation, collaboration, and many other commendable qualities. This endowed award was established by the California Dental Association in honor of Dr. Dugoni’s remarkable accomplishments in dental education. In addition to the recognition, Dr. Freymiller also received support to set-up a fund designated for improving teaching methods in UCLA’s oral and maxillofacial surgery clinics.

Dr. Nancy Reifel Recognized for Her Administration and Service

Dr. Nancy Reifel, Assistant Professor in the Division of Public Health and Community Dentistry, was selected as the recipient of the 2013 NDAF/Colgate-Palmolive Faculty Recognition Award in the category of administration and service. Dr. Reifel was given the award based on her demonstration of excellence in the professional development of students and a willingness to support and help students and colleagues in their quest for knowledge and advancement. The award program is jointly sponsored by the National Dental Association and the American Dental Education Association.

Section of Periodontics Shines at the Annual Meeting

At the recent American Academy of Periodontology meeting, three School of Dentistry faculty members were recognized for their excellence in teaching.

Dr. Flavia Q. Pirih received the Bud and Linda Tarrson Fellowship, which awards $12,000 annually for 3 years and was established to recognize and reward the best and brightest scientific and clinical minds with a demonstrated skill for teaching. The Tarrson Fellowship seeks to enhance the top-quality instruction already provided by continuing to attract gifted students and clinicians to academic positions through financial support. Dr. Pirih is an Assistant Professor and the Director of the Periodontics Pre-doctoral program.

Dr. Jonathan H. Do received the Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award of $10,000, which is intended to assist third-year periodontal residents in launching their careers as educators. Award candidates must intend to pursue a career in full-time periodontal teaching and research in the United States. Dr. Do is a 2013 graduate of the UCLA Residency Program in Periodontics and was recently appointed a full-time faculty position. He was also one of the three finalists for yet another AAP Foundation award – the Dr. and Mrs. Gerald Kramer Scholar Award for Excellence.

Dr. Philip Melnick received the Outstanding Teaching and Mentoring in Periodontics award. This award is given at a periodontal educator who has demonstrated a commitment to excellence in providing education in the full scope of clinical periodontics and relays that enthusiasm to students. Dr. Melnick is a part-time lecturer.

Congratulations to Drs. Do, Melnick, and Pirih on their accomplishments.

Creating a Platform for Collaboration

Dr. Anahid Jewett, Associate Professor in the Section of Oral Biology, co-chaired the 14th International Conference on Functional Foods and Bioactive Compounds. The event was held at UCLA from August 20th to 22nd and was also organized with the help of 26 other organizing committee members including Dr. Ichiro Nishimura, Professor in the Section of Removable Prosthodontics. Dr. Jewett presented the first key note speech on the prevention of chronic inflammation, which is known to fuel cancer. She concluded the conference by presenting the mission of Cure Cancer Now Foundation and its role in education, promotion, and dissemination of the best research related to various aspects of cancer research and treatment.

Dr Schoenbaum Named Fellow

Dr. Todd Schoenbaum, Assistant Clinical Professor and the Acting Director of Continuing Dental Education, was inducted into the American College of Dentists as a new Fellow. He was also inducted into the American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry as an Associate Fellow. He is one of the youngest fellows ever to be inducted into either organization.

In May of 2013, Dr. Schoenbaum along with Dr. Thomas Han, Adjunct Professor in the Section of Periodontics, were given the Scientific Writing Award from the Journal of Prosthetic Dentistry for their paper entitled, "Direct custom implant impression copings for the preservation of pontic site architecture."

Speaking Abroad

In May, Dr. Dean Ho presented at the “2013 China-America Frontiers of Engineering Symposium” in Beijing, China. The symposium brought together sixty of the most promising engineers under the age of 45 from China and the U.S. Dr. Ho presented in the biomedical microelectromechanical systems, a field that focuses on mechanical applications made suitable for biological applications.

Dr. Ho was also elected to the Board of Trustees of UCLA Unicamp, which is the official philanthropic body of UCLA. Unicamp has been in existence for more 75 years and annually sends nearly 1,000 participants from low-income families to a leadership camp.