Student Awards & Scholarships

Posted on: Thursday, 04/24/2014

Advocating for the Dental Profession

Adrien Hamedi-Sangsari was selected as the first recipient of the AADR Student Advocate of the Year Award. This new award was created by the AADR National Student Research Group (NSRG) and the AADR Government Affairs Committee to recognize dental students on their outstanding contributions to advocacy for oral health research.

Adrien Hamedi-Sangsari was selected as the first recipient of the AADR Student Advocate of the Year Award

Adrien received this well deserved award because of his passion for the dental profession. He was President of the UCLA Student Research Group (SRG) and last year, as president-elect of the UCLA SRG, he encouraged UCLA students to respond to action alerts and participated in the 2013 AADR/ADEA Advocacy Day on Capitol Hill. Most notably, during the August congressional recess, Adrien took the initiative to meet with congressmen from the California delegation, including Rep. Waxman (D), Rep. Bass (D) and Rep. Sherman (D). These meetings enabled him to discuss the groundbreaking research at UCLA and the importance of increasing the funding for biomedical research. Read the full press release from the AADR.

Nidhi Taneja '14 Receives Prestigious ADEA Scholarship

Nidhi Taneja recipient of the ADEA Scholarship

Nidhi Taneja, Class of 2014, received the ADEA Preventive Dentistry Scholarship - a scholarship that supports predoctoral dental students who have demonstrated academic excellence in preventive dentistry. A total of 12 DDS students were selected to receive a scholarship. Support for the awards is provided through a grant from Johnson & Johnson Consumer & Personal Products Worldwide. 

Nidhi is an international student, actively involved in various state-level leadership activities. She is also an Albert Schweitzer Fellow for Life and a Paul Ambrose Scholar. She was recently selected for the Dean’s Leadership institute. She wants to pursue advanced training in pediatric dentistry and possibly a Masters degree in Public Health. Congratulations Nidhi.

Reaching Out to the Community

In addition to being named a 2013-2014 Albert Schweitzer Fellow, Ryan Brennan was also awarded the Health Sciences Volunteer of the Year by Meet Each Need with Dignity (MEND) dental clinic. Ryan also received the Bud Tarrson Dental School Student Community Leadership Award by the American Dental Association Foundation as well as the Rishwain Award from the UCLA Luskin Center for Civil Society for his work with MEND. 

Ryan Brennan receiving the MEND Volunteer Award

Pictured above, from left to right at the Volunteer Awards Ceremony: Denise Sanchez, MEND Dental Clinic Manager, Susan Fredericks, DDS (Apollonian Co-Chair), Jorge Alvarez, DDS and Ryan Brennan. 

One of the many sessions that were organized at the MEND Dental Clinic. Pictured above, left to right: Michelle Hoang, Christine Tran, Dr. McLaren, Noha Nour, Erica Stokke, Naman Desai, Ryan Brennan, Jeff Yoshihara, Andrew Levin, Danielle Ploussard, Kyle Yamamoto, Brian Bonilla, Eddie Jung, Dr. Bonilla, Fenil Patel. Photo credit to Jeff Yoshihara

Eric Chen receives a scholarship from the ADA Foundation
Eric Chen '16 Receives ADA Scholarship

Eric Chen, Class of 2016, recently received a $2,500 scholarship from the American Dental Association Foundation - a scholarship set-up in honor of Dr. Robert B. Dewhirst, a California dentist and dental educator. After dental school Eric is planning to practice in Southern California.

In addition to this new scholarship, Eric was previously awarded the 2013 Tylenol Future Care Scholarship and the North American Taiwanese Medical Association scholarship award.

Congratulations Eric.

Research News >>
<< Student Awards & Scholarships