School News

Posted on: Tuesday, 09/16/2014

Welcoming the Class of 2018

White Coat CeremonyThe UCLA School of Dentistry gave a warm Bruin welcome to the incoming Class of 2018 on Tuesday, September 23rd in Schoenberg Hall at the dental school’s annual White Coat Ceremony.

The annual ceremony kicks off the pre-doctoral students' 4-year academic dental career. To kick-off the ceremony, Dean No-Hee Park gave an inspirational and motivational speech, which was followed by Dr. Ronald Mito, Associate Dean of Academic Programs and Personnel.

The students were then given a white dental coat, courtesy of the Apollonian Society, a membership-based society dedicated to enhancing the student experience. After each student made the ascent to the stage, they introduced themselves and named their most recent alma mater to fellow students, family, friends, faculty and staff. The White Coat Ceremony is practiced by schools in the healthcare professions and signifies the transition from pre-clinical studies to clinical health sciences.

Following the procession and introductions, the Class of 2018 recited the Dental Student’s Pledge and enjoyed an outdoor reception with family and fellow students. Welcome to the Class of 2018.

White Coat Ceremony - students reciting the pledge     

Congratulations to the Class of 2014

special guests with Dean Park

The School of Dentistry bid farewell to the Class of 2014 at the 47th Commencement Ceremony on Sunday, June 1st at Royce Hall where 106 DDS and 19 oral biology MS and PhD degrees were conferred and 51 advanced training certificates were awarded. Presiding over the ceremony was Dean No-Hee Park and special guests Chancellor Gene Block (far left), Dr. Gary Parker, UCLA DDS ’77 (2nd from the right), and Mr. Anthony Pritzker (far right).

This commencement was especially noteworthy, as Dr. Parker was awarded the coveted UCLA Medal – the university’s highest honor – by Chancellor Block. He received the medal for his career of selfless dedication in helping those with congenital deformities in impoverished countries. After receiving the medal, Dr. Parker remained on-stage to give the keynote commencement address. His main message to the new graduates was to live a life of service and give back to those in need with the skills and training they received while in dental school. The entire commencement speech can be viewed here

Class of 2014 

Diastema Recognized for Excellence

The UCLA American Student Dental Association Chapter (ASDA) recently won the 2014 Lawrence H. Meskin Award for their annual publication, the Diastema. The award is issued annually by the American Association of Dental Editors and Journalists (AADEJ)  in recognition of overall excellence in publishing, including editorial content and design in student dental publications. 

The award is named after the late editor of the Journal of the American Dental Association and will be presented at the AADEJ Annual Dental Editors Luncheon in San Antonio, Texas. This is the second award that the Diastema has won this year.

Read the recent Spring 2014 issue of the Diastema


UCLA Dental Students At CDA Cares 

More than a dozen UCLA pre-doctoral students attended a recent California Dental Association's (CDA) Cares outreach event hosted by the CDA Foundation. CDA Cares is a health fair that provides free dental services to more than 2,000 patients at each event.

UCLA's participation was organized by alum Dr. Russ Webb and plans are already underway to particpate in the next CDA Cares event, which will be taking place at the end of November at the Pomona Fairplex. For more details about the upcoming event, please refer to the CDA Foundation website.

Creating Opportunitites in the Health Sciences

High school students enrolled in the Pre-college Science Education program, Sierra Balatan (left) and Nancy Silva (right), received a Student Award of Excellence at the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Pacific Division Annual Meeting held at UC Riverside in late June. The pair’s poster, titled “Comparing Mandible Bone Marrow Derived Osteoblast Attachment to Titanium Scaffolds With or Without UV Treatment,” took 2nd place in the Cell and Molecular Biology category.   

Balatan and Silva are part of the last cohort that benefited from funds given by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the original funder of the science education program. The program promotes scientific careers for gifted high school students in Southern California. Currently, the program is being supported by the Chancellor’s office and the Office of the Dean. Balatan and Silva, along with the other nine students in this year's cohort, excelled at the annual meeting – a great feet considering there were 140 student presentations, and our students competed with undergraduate, graduate, and post-doctoral students.

Introducing the 2014-2015 UCLA Associated Student Body Cabinet

Over the summer, the 2014-2015 UCLA Dentistry Associated Student Body Cabinet was announced. The cabinet is excited to serve their fellow classmates and the dental school, and to be a link to faculty and staff. The cabinet is working closely with class presidents: Mark Ortega ‘15, Eric Chen ‘16, and Shyam Indrakanti ‘17, and the ASDA leadership team to represent the students.UCLA ASB

2014-2015 Associated Student Body (ASB) Cabinet:

Anthony Fioretti, President
Quinn Yost, Vice President
Johnson Wong, Vice President
Nikki Bui, Secretary
Linda Phi, Treasurer
Elizabeth Woo, Social Chair
Joan Chen, Student Apollonian Group Chair
Selina Sarno, Communications and Media Chair
Danny Hadaya, Fundraising Chair
Neikka Fareid, Graduate Student Association (GSA) Representative
Amir Tadros, GSA Representative

For more information about the Associated Student Body, please visit their website.

Thank You for Making Our Clinics Shine

A Clinic Pride Day was held on Saturday, July 19, 2014. Thirty-nine volunteer students, faculty andstaff members, as well as invited guests volunteered their Saturday to help clean the second and third floor clinics as well as the the third floor laboratory. The morning was filled with camaraderie and fun, and ended with a Mexican food lunch. The School of Dentistry wishes to thank the following individuals for their participation:

Faculty Members

Dr. Jeff Goldstein

Dr. Ron Mito w/daughter Lilyann Mito

Dr. Paulo Camargo


Staff Member

Hillal Latif


4th Year Students

Ann Ngguyen

Jennifer Sun

Brian Ly

Michael Wasserman

Mark Ortega



3rd Year Students

Steven Petritz

Anthony Fioretti (with son George Fioretti, the hardest working of the group)

Kin Cho Wong

Natasha Lim

Max Bachour

Norman Chen

Allison Ozaki

Nicole Bui

Jeremy Chau

Adelheid Limansubroto

Kimberley Wong

Elizabeth Woo

Yingci Liu

Sami Shahhal

Linda Phi

2nd Year Students

Travis Steinberg

Amir Tadros

Sara Kwong

Iliana Nguyen

Neikka Fareid

Nikole Ankrom

Ashley Ingram

Alexandra Onodera

Roger Lau

Oushan Kalantari

David Jourabchi

Ryan Wong

Kyle Low