Development News

Posted on: Wednesday, 01/07/2015

Scholarship Funding Gets a Boost from Long-time Supporters

Bob & Marion Wilson

Longtime supporters of the School of Dentistry, Bob and Marion Wilson, donated $2 million at the end of October to create an endowed scholarship. The Wilsons’ donation established the Bob and Marion Wilson Endowed Scholarship Fund, which will be used in support of annual scholarships to dental students who excel in the classroom and are dedicated to public service. The Wilsons’ gift, which is the largest scholarship donation the dental school has ever received, comes at an optimal time, with state support having decreased substantially over the years. Scholarships help students defray educational expenses, ensuring that the broad array of professional options — including teaching, research and practice in underserved communities — remains open to each student after graduating.

The School of Dentistry awards an average of roughly $3 million per year in scholarships and grants to students. The Wilson endowed scholarship will increase the school’s ability to give even more financial aid. For nearly three decades, the Wilsons have been loyal supporters of the dental school. Bob Wilson is a dedicated member of the school’s board of counselors and now serves on the dean’s Centennial Campaign Cabinet for UCLA, which launched in May.

For the full press release about the Wilson Endowed Scholarship.

Dinner with the Dean

Pictured from left to right: Dr. Ronald Bills, Dean No-Hee Park, Mrs. Yuly Park, Mrs. Jeanne Ewing, Dr. Rick Ewing, Dr. Kevin Kieu, Mrs. Audrey Tran and Dr. Benjamin Wu.

Part of a new regionally-focused event series, Dinner with the Dean is designed as an opportunity for valued alumni and friends of the UCLA School of Dentistry to engage with others in the community who share a passion for the school and the oral health profession. To kick-off the series, an intimate group of alumni members and Dean Park came together at the end of November on the island of Coronado in San Diego. Dr. Park reported on the exciting developments happening at the dental school and his vision for the future as the School celebrates its 50th Anniversary.

If you are interested in hosting a dinner, please contact Mallory Gompert at (310) 206-6079 or

Be a Part of Our 50th Anniversary Milestone

In this, our 50th anniversary year, we are asking our alumni and friends to help us continue our tradition of excellence by becoming 50th Anniversary Benefactors of the Apollonian Society. Gifts to the Apollonian Society support the next generation of exceptional students, as well as our mission to improve the oral and systemic health of the people of California, the nation, and the world.

We would especially like to recognize and thank the following individuals who have pledged their support to our students and school by becoming 50th Anniversary Benefactors in the early days of the campaign. They, along with so many others, help to ensure the continuance of the School’s tradition of excellence.

Kevin Andrus, DDS ’09
Brian J. Asbury, DDS '09
Tina M. Beck, DDS '07
Jacob D. Cragun, DDS '08
Cyber Medical Imaging, Inc.
Leslie R. Fish, DDS '82
Jose L. Flores, DDS ’85
Susan Fredericks, DDS ’81
Mrs. Myra R. Gabbay & Dr. Alain G. Gabbay
Bryan J. Houlberg, DDS '08
Enoch S. Kim, DDS '06, MS '09 & Kaitlyn J. Kim, DDS '06
Stephen Y. Lee, DDS '75
Emily Letran, DDS ’93
Daniel E. Levin, DDS '75 & Patrice S. Punim, DMD, Ct. '81 (O)
Ronald S. Mito, DDS ’76
Steven K. Okamoto, DDS '84
No-Hee Park, DMD, PhD
Richard J. Rauth, DDS ’09, MS ’11
Thomas J. Rauth, DDS ’73
Nancy S. Schort, DDS '77 & Donald R. Schort, MBA
Bradley G. Seto, DDS, Ct. ’79 (GP)
Brandon G. Seto, DDS ’08
Mrs. Shirley Shapiro & Mr. Ralph J. Shapiro
Janet Yamate-Takahashi, DDS ’86 & Rick S. Takahashi, DDS ’87
Gregory Werner, DDS ’09
Dr. Felix C. Yip & Mrs. Mildred Yip

If you would like more information about becoming a 50th Anniversary Benefactor, please contact the Office of Development at (310) 206-0215 or